Helping the international community 

adopt and maintain environmentally sound and sustainable practices

DR. CHARLENA M. SEYMOUR SCHOLARSHIP ________________________________________________________________________

This scholarship was established to recognize women pursuing an advanced degree in the fields of Public and Environmental Health. The Scholarship is named in honor of Charlena Seymour whose professional accomplishments and vision, leadership, and compassion for her fellow man make her an outstanding role-model to women.

$1000 will be awarded. The winner will be notified by September 1st. A formal announcement of the winner will be made at the AEHS Foundation Annual International Conference on Soils, Sediments, Water, & Energy in October.

The Foundation is currently accepting contributions for this scholarship. Please make checks payable to “AEHS Foundation/Charlena Seymour Scholarship Fund” and mail to AEHS Foundation, 150 Fearing Street, Suite 21, Amherst, MA 01002.

One hundred percent of your donation will go directly into the scholarship fund. All related expenses, such as administration and overhead, are paid for by the AEHS Foundation.

QUALIFICATIONS: The Scholarship will be awarded to female applicants pursuing a graduate degree in Public Health and/or Environmental Health from any accredited U.S. University or College. The applicant must exhibit academic, professional, and personal qualities that best exemplify Dr. Seymour’s life, namely: a dedication to high academic and professional standards; a vision of effective leadership; helping and mentoring associates, colleagues, and friends; and a consideration for all humanity.


1. Letter of Application: Applicant should provide a letter clearly identifying those life experiences (i.e., personal, academic, and work-related) that qualify her for consideration of the award.

2. Official transcript(s) of grades from all post-high school institution(s). E-transcripts preferred, sent directly to Please note that e-transcripts may have an expiration date of 30 days after receipt, so do not send until June. Mailed transcripts also accepted (mail to: AEHS Foundation, Attn: Laura, 150 Fearing St., Suite 21, Amherst, MA 01002)

3.Three letters of reference: one personal, one work-related, and one academic. Letters of reference may be submitted together with the application materials or emailed directly to from the individual who is providing the reference. Please specify in the email which type of letter it is (personal, work-related, or academic).

4. Documentation of the graduate program and institution she is attending or will be attending (i.e., letter of acceptance if the student will begin the program in the upcoming semester, or current transcript showing enrollment in the upcoming semester).

Please note that all correspondence with applicants is done via email so AEHS Foundation must have the applicant's email address.

All materials may be sent to or mailed to AEHS Foundation, Attn: Laura, 150 Fearing Street, Suite 21, Amherst, MA 01002.


AWARD DATE: September 1, 2023

AWARD ADMINISTRATION: This scholarship will be paid directly to the recipient's graduate institution after September 1, 2023.



Riena Harker, Yale School of Public Health

Master of Public Health

Click Here to View Her Video


Tara Abularrage, Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health

Master of Public Health

Nia Augustine, Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health

Master of Health Administration

Click Here to View Her Video

Faryn Fairweather, Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health

Master of Public Health

Click Here to View Her Video

Ami Bhatt, Claremont University, Claremont, CA
Ph.D. Public Health
Click Here to View Her Video


Makala Carrington, George Mason University, Fairfax, VA

Master of Public Health

Click Here to View Her Video


Haley BarravecchiaHarvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, Boston, MA

Master of Science, Environmental Health

Click Here to View Her Video


Mofoluwake Adeniyi, Claremont University, Claremont, CA

Ph.D. Public Health, Community & Global Health
Click Here to View Her Video


Rebecca Hodge, Emory University, Atlanta, GA

Master of Public Health, Environmental Health and Epidemiology


Glory T. Zhou, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX

Master of Public Health, Health Policy & Management


Nicole Murphy, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH

Master of Public Health, Epidemiology

Dr. Charlena Seymour's career has been highlighted by hard work, accomplishment, leadership, mentoring and civility. While at the University of Massachusetts Amherst she rose from the rank of Assistant Professor to Director of the Communication Disorders Clinic to the Chair of the Department of Communication Disorders to the Dean of the Graduate School to Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. She has served as President of the 125,000 member, American Speech-Language Hearing Association and received the Association’s highest service award in 2007. She has served on numerous professional and community Boards including the Western Massachusetts Women’s Foundation. She has been recognized for leadership by the Howard University School of Communication, the Harvard Foundation and Texas Christian University. She has served as a delegation leader for three People to People Citizen Ambassador’s programs.


Since 2014, the same seven individuals have graciously donated their time to evaluating applications and determining a final winner for this award each year. Please see members' biographies here.

We appreciate the time and effort of all Committee members and thank them for their commitment.